Structural engineer.

Tinbum

Structural engineer.

Post by Tinbum »

A few years ago I got planning to extend my house. The Architects recommended a structural engineer to design the steelwork and look at the structural integrity. What a mistake. I have been a builder all my life, I have a degree in construction, which involved steelwork design and calculation and couldn't believe what they came up with. Steel beams in the ground below the ground floor, one of which they simply removed when I questioned it! Beams that were lower than the ceiling, which I had specifically said I didn't want, which became smaller when informed. Wind posts in the ground floor cavity.

Anyway I had a change of plan and I now have planning for a new build and needed a structural engineer for that. I went with another recommendation from the Architect and that's also been a disaster. I don't have much confidence in them when they can't even get foundation widths shown on drawings to match the colour legend and a beam that is detailed as box section with a steel plate welded on in the drawings is listed as I beams. Beams that are on concrete padstones that are in an internal facing brick wall, 10N block wall that is also shown clearly as an internal facing brick wall. Now, worst of all they are not any returning calls and the job was instructed in April!

Does anyone have a recommendation for a good, old-fashioned, practical , structural engineer?
85no 58mm solar thermal tubes, 28.5Kw PV, 3x Sunny Island 5048, 2795 Ah (135kWh) (c20) Rolls batteries 48v, 8kWh Growatt storage, 22 x US3000C Pylontech, Sofar ME3000's, Brosley wood burner and 250lt DHW
Stinsy

Re: Structural engineer.

Post by Stinsy »

No recommendation I'm afraid.

In life it is always a good idea to understand the priorities of all parties. And also to understand that a lot of so-called "professionals" aren't particularly bright or even that well-informed on their chosen field!