Lister generator

Deanforest

Lister generator

Post by Deanforest »

Hi there. I have a lot of experience with SR and ST lister engines over the years and currently have an SR1 running a 3kw lister generator which is backup for our off grid solar battery bank. But currently needing to make an alteration to the generator itself. The current voltage output is about 222 volts, but at full load (10amps), there is a voltage drop of about 4 volts over the 100 metres between generator and house. There’s a good thick copper cable of around 20 mm sq installed. This has never been a problem till now we have another washing machine which goes into fault mode at less than 220 volts. I am trying to find out how to increase the voltage output on the generator. Washing machine runs fine on battery/inverter at 230 volts which is what I have set the inverter to. My immediate feeling is that I need to increase the field current, but I may be wrong. It’s a shunt wound generator by the look of it and the unit has a double slipping. The whole unit is from 1962, had been little used on emergency standby.
The actual generator is a Brush, model SCAF1, with the 12 volt starting coil integral in the generator, so the generator itself runs on 12 volts to start the engine. I have a quite comprehensive manual for it which states it is a 220/240 volt generator with 13 amp output, but it doesn’t give me the info I need. Can any lister expert out there help on this one?
Oldgreybeard

Re: Lister generator

Post by Oldgreybeard »

I used to have a similar generator some years ago and my recollection was that the output voltage was tied to the engine RPM, so if it was a bit low then the governor needed to be adjusted to increase it. Doing this also increased the frequency slightly, but these things were often not too precise at delivering 50Hz anyway, as they have very simplistic controls. I don't remember the one I had having any sort of AVR, everything was mechanical.