thumbnail

If there is a foul wind a blowin' then drop by for a chat - about coconuts of anything else off topic.
AE-NMidlands

thumbnail

Post by AE-NMidlands »

How is this for sending to a complete novice who has asked for advice?
Solar pv panels were initially very expensive and not very efficient (by modern standards) so installation was encouraged by the govt. who “gave” a generous subsidy (“FIT”) to “buy” half of people's notional output (i.e. assuming people would manage to consume 50% of their output.) This was before much in the way of sophisticated metering.
Then smart meters started to become effective and export meters or meter registers came available, so export tariffs developed.
At the same time, batteries and controllers/inverters were developed which allowed storage of surplus PV, so that people could avoid grid import some or most of the year, by storing surplus daytime generation for later / overnight use.

Nowadays almost any combination of generation/import/export is available if you can find the right tariff: Generate as much as you like, store as much as you like, export as much as you like (within what your local network will accept) import at low rates in the small hours, export at peak rates in the early evening, the list is endless (almost every possible option is possible!)
You might import at plunge (or even negative) rates in the small hours to charge a battery and then sell it back at peak rates early in the evening – gaining from the arbitrage each day – again if you are on a suitable tariff and if you don't lose more by battery round trip losses! So your batteries can earn a return to help cover the investment even in the winter when there is no significant solar pv income, besides letting you run the house off cheap-rate electricity imported during the small hours.
2.0 kW/4.62 MWhr pa in Ripples, 4.5 kWp W-facing pv, 9.5 kWhr batt
30 solar thermal tubes, 2MWhr pa in Stockport, plus Congleton and Kinlochbervie Hydros,